Review of current and planned adaptation action: Pacific

Report / Paper

Review of current and planned adaptation action: Pacific


June 2012


This document presents a review of current and planned adaptation action in the Pacific. For the purpose of this review, the Pacific is defined as including Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. The review first provides an overview of adaptation action at a regional level, highlighting commonalities and differences between Pacific countries. The appendices that follow discuss adaptation action taking place in each of the fourteen countries in the region. This document is one of 12 regional profiles completed as a contribution to the Review of Current and Planned Adaptation Action in Africa, Asia-Pacific and Latin America and the Caribbean. Its purpose is to provide a baseline understanding of who is doing what on adaptation in three developing regions—Africa, Asia-Pacific, and Latin America and the Caribbean—and in priority adaptation sectors. Based on available resources, it seeks to provide a rapid assessment of: (i) priority interests and adaptation needs; (ii) efforts by governments to support adaptation though policy and planning; (iii) the scope of international support for adaptation efforts in different countries and sectors; and (iv) potential gaps in adaptation efforts at the country and regional levels.